Click on map to enlarge

Day 1 - Arrive in Lhasa (Elevation 3650 meters /11,972 feet)

  • Travel to Lhasa and use the afternoon to acclimatize.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa

Day 2 – Lhasa sightseeing

  • Spend the morning visiting the Potala Palace. Visit the Jokhang Temple and the Barkhor Circuit in the afternoon. Attend a welcome dinner and trip briefing.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa                                          

Day 3 – Explore Drepung and Sera manastries

  • Drepung once housed 10,000 monks and was the largest monastery in the world. At its peak Sera housed 5000 monks and is now a great place to see monks debating.
  • Option: Switch either Drepung or Sera program into a half-day hiking trip around Lhasa.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa

Day 4 – Lhasa to Shigatse (Elevation 3840 meters / 12,595 feet)

  • Driver over the Khama La pass. Have a picnic lunch at one of Tibet’s holy lakes, Yamdrok Tso. Continue the journey to Shigatse via Gyangtse.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Shigatse 

Day 5 –Shigatse to Saga (Elevation 4610 meters /15,318 feet)

  • After breakfast, continue the overland journey to Saga County.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Saga

Day 6 – Saga to Darchen ( Elevation 4,670 meters / 15,154 feet)

  • A whole day overland journey to Darchen via old Zhongba.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Darchen 

Day 7– Mt. Kailash Trek starts; Darchen to Dira-Puk Monastery (Elevation 5080 meters / 16,662 feet)

  • Hike from Darchen to Drirapuk (22.5 kilometers / 14 miles; about 6 hours of trekking).
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Guest House

Day 8Dira-puk Monastery to Zutul-puk Monastry (Elevation 4,820 meters / 5,810 feet); and Zutul-puk Monastry to Darchen  

  • Continue the trekking via Drolma-la pass (Elevation 5,630 meters / 18,466 feet), then arrive at Zutrulpuk (22.9 kilometers / 14.23 miles; about 6 hours of trekking); hike the remaining distance to Darchen (11.3 kilometers / 7 miles, about 4 hours).
  • The trek ends in Darchen.

 Day 9Darchen to Zanda (Elevation 3760 meters / 12,333 feet) via Khyunglung-Ruined Cave City

  • Drive to Tirthapuri Hot Springs and Monastery and soak your feet. (Traditionally, pilgrims bathe here after completing their circuit of Mt. Kailash.)
  • Continue the journey to the Khyunglung and walk around ruined cave city. Then drive to Zanda and enjoy the magnificent view of the Zanda landscape at sunset.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Zanda 

Day 10Explore Guge Kingdom Ruins

  • Spend the morning at the Guge kingdom sites; and return to the Lake Manasarovar in the evening.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lake Manasarovar 

Day 11 The Lake Manasarovar to Saga

  • Overland journey back to Saga County.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Saga 

Day 12 – Saga to Mt. Everest Base camp

  • Overland journey to Mt. Everest bas camp.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Tent guesthouse

Day 13Mt. Everest Base camp to Shigatse

  • Overland journey back to Shigatse.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Shigatse 

Day 14 –Shigatse to Lhasa

  • Walk around the old local market in the morning. Depart back to Lhasa.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa

Day 15 – Depart from Lhasa
Transfer to the airport. Return home with spectacular memories of Tibet.