Grand Circle Tour of Central Tibet


Click on map to enlarge

Day 1Chengdu (Elevation 500 m / 1640 ft) to Tibet Nyingtri Bayi (Elevation 2990 m / 19,807 ft)

  • Take an early morning flight to Tibet Nyingtri airport. Our local Tibetan tour guide and driver will meet you there and then drive to Bayi; and spend the rest of day for acclimatization.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Bayi

Day 2Round trip to Lunang (Tashigang) (Elevation 3300 m / 10,824 ft)

  • Drive to Lunang via Nyingchi Bayi and the Serkhym La pass (4620 m / 15,154 ft). Enjoy the alpine scenery and alpine fields along the way. Hike around the village and then return to Bayi during the afternoon.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Bayi (B) 

Day 3 Bayi to Lhasa (Elevation 3650 m / 11,972 ft)

  • Drive to Lhasa via Darksumtso lake (3470 m / 11,382 ft) and Mila pass (5020 m / 16,466 ft). Enjoy the natural views along the way.
  • Driving distance: 520 km; driving time: 8-10 hours
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa (B)

Day 4 – Lhasa sightseeing

  • Spend the morning visiting the Potala Palace. Visit the Jokhang Temple and the Barkhor Circuit in the afternoon. Attend a welcome dinner
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa (B, D)

Day 5Explore Drepung, Norbulingka Summer Palace, and Sera monasteries

  • Drepung once housed 10,000 monks and was the largest monastery in the world. At its peak Sera housed 5000 monks and is now a great place to see monks debating.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa (B)

 Day 6Lhasa to Shigatse (Elevation 3840 m / 12,595 ft)

  • Drive over the Khama La pass. Have a picnic lunch at one of Tibet’s holy lakes, Yamdrok Tso. Continue the journey to Shigatse via Gyangtse.
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Shigatse (B)

Day 7Shigatse to Lhasa

  • Walk around the old local market in the morning. Depart back to Lhasa.
  • Driving distance: 280 km; driving time: 5-6 hours
  • Night’s Stay and Accommodations: Lhasa (B)

Day 8 Exit from Lhasa

Transfer to the airport. (B)

(Note: “B, L, D” represents “Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner”)